top of page
  • Writer's pictureTipsy Book Reads Podcast

My Roommate is a Vampire | Review

"Mr. Frederick J. Fitzwilliam's Google Search History:

-How do you kiss if it has been three hundred years since

-How can you know if she wants to kiss you

-Is it a bad idea to kiss your roommate"

--Jenna Levine, My Roommate is a Vampire


*THERE WILL BE SPOILERS* *EXPLICIT CONTENT*


This book was recommended as a cozy Halloween book, and it was exactly that. It was sort of your "love story formula" book that if you listen to the podcast, you know I am sort of over at the moment. But, it was very cute nonetheless.


I absolutely HATED the sex scene.... One of my biggest pet peeves is when people have oral after a whole day out on the town.. I am sorry.. It's gross. Please shower. I mean, in theory, I guess I don't know if vampires sweat, but I am sure she does. Cassie (FMC) described Frederick's (MMC) scent as something like musky and heady, which to me translates to "dirty ballsack". Just go shower, then do whatever you please. Also, it is slow burn, so I waited until I was 70% finished with the book for THAT?!? She also gave him permission to drink her blood while in the heat of the moment... Frederick had been so adamant about not drinking blood in front of her and I think that was unnecessary and out of character for both of them. And it was not even hot it was "Here, suck my finger so you can get off".......


Okay, now that I got that out of the way. I really did enjoy this book overall. Basically, Frederick, a 300 year old vampire that has been in a coma for the last 100 years puts out an ad for a modern day roommate to teach him how to blend in to society. Long story short, they fall for each other, have their inevitable conflict (his betrothed vampire from 100 years ago kidnaps Frederick with the help of her family and his mother,), and then Cassie comes to his rescue and they end up living happily ever after.


⭐⭐⭐.5/5

I would recommend. If you're looking for a fun cozy romance with a spooky twist, give this one a shot. Just be forewarned that it is slow burn and the burn isn't very hot.




6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page